Winter Zodiac Signs

The first signs of Winter come with the sun moving from Sagittarius into Capricorn. This is signalled by the shortest day, when the nights are longest. It is the worst time in that the world is at its darkest, and it is also a new beginning, because after this, the nights will grow shorter as new light comes into the world. Capricorn is practical and plans for the future. Hard work during the dark days is Capricorn’s strength. This is a time to be practical about the resources that are available. Capricorn is practical and prudently uses the resources available. In the early days of the year, it was a time optimism with the knowledge that Summer is coming and life and food is abundant. But at this time, there is no optimism, only the reality of what material things you have.

In Aquarius we experience the coldest days of the year. At this time, it may be necessary to stay indoors most of the time. It is a time of thinking and reflecting on the new year. With little to do outside, the Aquarian has time to invent new things and plan changes. It is also a time of waiting and controlling the emotions. The Spring is still far away, so at this time people dare not release their emotions. They become indifferent about most things as they await the Spring.

Pisces disperses the Winter and the nights become shorter and the days become longer. Some days are like Winter, whilst others are like Spring. It is a changeable time. Spring will soon come after the long Winter, so that people can become inspired with thoughts of the new year.

Sagittarius - The Archer: November 23 – December 21

The sign of Sagittarius covers 240° to 270° of celestial longitude and is represented by The Archer. This symbol is based on the centaur Chiron, who according to Greek mythology mentored Achilles in the art of archery. Sagittarius is part of the Ninth House – known as Iter (Journeys) or the House of Philosophy. Sagittarius’ associated element is Fire (positive polarity), and the ruling celestial body is Jupiter.

Capricorn - The Sea Goat: December 22 – January 20

The sign of Capricorn spans 270° to 300° of celestial longitude and is represented by the Mountain Sea-Goat. This sign is based on Enki, the Sumerian primordial god of wisdom and waters who has the head and upper body of a mountain goat, and the lower body and tail of a fish. The sign is part of the Tenth House – Regnum (Kingdom), or The House of Social Status. Capricorns are associated with the element Earth, and the ruling body body is Saturn.

Aquarius - The Water Bearer: January 21 – February 18

Aquarius, which spans 300° to 330° of celestial longitude, is represented by the Water Bearer. In ancient Greek mythology, Aquarius is Ganymede, the beautiful Phrygian youth who was snatched up by Zeus to become the cup-bearer of the Gods. Aquarius is part of the Eleventh House – Benefacta (Friendship), or House of Friendship, is associated with the element of Air. Traditionally, the ruling celestial body of Aquarius was Saturn, but has since changed to Uranus.

Pisces - The Fish: February 19 – March 20

The sign of Pisces covers 330° to 360° of celestial longitude and is represented by the The Fish. This symbol is derived from the ichthyocentaurs – a pair of centaurian sea-gods that had the upper body of a male human, the lower front of a horse, and the tail of a fish – who aided Aphrodite when she was born from the sea. Pisces is part of the Twelfth House of Carcer (Prison), or The House of Self-Undoing, and are associated with the element of Water. The ruling celestial body of Pisces is traditionally Jupiter, but has since come to be Neptune.

February Birthday

Birthday Horoscope