Chinese Zodiac Years

The Chinese Zodiac, known as Sheng Xiao, is based on a twelve-year cycle, each year in that cycle related to an animal sign. There are - the rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep, monkey, rooster, dog and pig. There are also 5 elements in the zodiac associated with the animals and their personalities: Wood, Earth, Fire, Water and Metal. The Chinese calender differs from the Western calender - the beginning of a Chinese new year changes every year, on dates ranging between late January and late February.

Chinese Zodiac